skip to content

Dr. Janis Vossiek

Postdoc

Research project "Moving Trades"

Portrait

Dr. Janis Vossiek (*1981) joined the CCCP in March 2017 and will be working as a postdoctoral researcher with Christine Trampusch in the project "Moving Trades", which analyzes how flows of skilled migration affect the vocational trainign systems and politics in Germany and Switzerland. Previous to joining the CCCP, Dr. Vossiek studied political science and romance studies at the University of Bremen and the Universitat Autónoma in Barcelona. From January 2011 until February 2017 he was doctoral student and subsequently postdoctoral researcher working with Prof. Marius Busemeyer at the University of Konstanz. He obtained his PhD with a thesis entitled "Collective Skill Formation in Liberal Market Economies? The Politics of Training Reform in the United Kingdom, Ireland and Australia". In order to conduct archival work and expert interviews for his thesis, Dr. Vossiek was visiting graduate student at King's College, University of Cambridge from September to December 2012 and visited Australia for fieldwork from February to April 2013. Parallel to his dissertation, he worked together with Marius Busemeyer for an OECD-funded research project on local education governance in Germany. Besides conducting research on the intersection of welfare and education policies as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Konstanz, from May 2016 until February 2017 he worked as a scientific coordinator of a research cluster proposal under the latest framework of the German Excellence Initiative.

Main research interests

Comparative Political Economy; Education; Welfare State; Vocational Training; Labor Market Policies; Structural Change and Policy Reactions

Publications

Vossiek, Janis (2017): "Wandel von Policies oder Institutionen? Politische Prozesse und die Rolle von Kammern in der Berufsbildung“, in: Sack, D. (ed.): Wirtschaftskammern im europäischen Vergleich. Wiesbaden: Springer VS, 337-360.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2016: "Mission impossible"? Aufbau dualer Berufsausbildung in England und Irland", in: WSI Mitteilungen, 4/2016, 254-263.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2016: “Global convergence or path dependency? Skill formation regimes in the globalized economy”, in: Mundy, Karen, Green, Andy, Lingard, Bob and Antoni Verger (2016): The Handbook of Global Education Policy. Wiley-Blackwell: Chichester, 145-161.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2015: Reforming Education Governance Through Local Capacity-building: A Case Study of the “Learning Locally” Programme in Germany. OECD Education Working Papers, No. 113. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Kern, Florian G./Vossiek, Janis, 2015: Get Organised: The ‘Do’s’ Preceding Successful Field Research. European Political Science, 14 (2), 137-148. Advance online publication: 12 December 2014, doi:10.1057/eps.2014.45

zum Inhalt springen

Forschungsprojekt "Moving Trades"

Portrait

Dr. Janis Vossiek (*1981) ist seit März 2017 Postdoc im Projekt "Moving Trades", in dem er gemeinsam mit Prof. Christine Trampusch die Auswirkungen europäischer Fachkräftemigration auf die Berufsbildungssysteme der Schweiz und Deutschland untersucht. Dr. Vossiek studierte Politikwissenschaften und Romanistik an der Universität Bremen sowie der Universitat Autónoma in Barcelona. Von Januar 2011 bis Februar 2017 war er zunächst Doktorand und anschlissend Postdoc bei Prof. Marius Busemeyer am Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, Policy-Analyse und politische Theorie der Universität Konstanz. Seinen Doktorgrad erlangte er mit einer Monographie zum Thema "Collective Skill Formation in Liberal Market Economies? The Politics of Training Reform in the United Kingdom, Ireland and Australia", in deren Rahmen er "Visiting Graduate Student" am King's College der University of Cambridge (September bis Dezember 2012) war und von Februar bis April 2013 Feldforschung in Australien betrieb. Parallel zu seiner Dissertation arbeitete er zudem an einem OECD-geförderten Forschungsprojekt zu Reformen der lokalen Bildungsgovernance in Deutschland. In seiner Tätigkeit als Postdoc in Konstanz forschte er zuletzt an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wohlfahrtsstaats- und Bildungspolitik und war von Mai 2016 bis Februar 2017 wissenschaftlicher Koordinator einer Initiative zur Beantragung eines Exzellenzclusters.

Generelle Forschungsinteressen

Vergleichende Politische Ökonomie; Bildungspolitik; Wohlfahrtsstaatsforschung; Arbeitsmarktpolitik; Struktureller Wandel und Policy-Reaktionen

Publikationen

Vossiek, Janis (2017): "Wandel von Policies oder Institutionen? Politische Prozesse und die Rolle von Kammern in der Berufsbildung“, in: Sack, D. (ed.): Wirtschaftskammern im europäischen Vergleich. Wiesbaden: Springer VS, 337-360.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2016: "Mission impossible"? Aufbau dualer Berufsausbildung in England und Irland", in: WSI Mitteilungen, 4/2016, 254-263.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2016: “Global convergence or path dependency? Skill formation regimes in the globalized economy”, in: Mundy, Karen, Green, Andy, Lingard, Bob and Antoni Verger (2016): The Handbook of Global Education Policy. Wiley-Blackwell: Chichester, 145-161.

Busemeyer, Marius R./Vossiek, Janis, 2015: Reforming Education Governance Through Local Capacity-building: A Case Study of the “Learning Locally” Programme in Germany. OECD Education Working Papers, No. 113. Paris: OECD Publishing.

Kern, Florian G./Vossiek, Janis, 2015: Get Organised: The ‘Do’s’ Preceding Successful Field Research. European Political Science, 14 (2), 137-148. Advance online publication: 12 December 2014, doi:10.1057/eps.2014.45